Day Five Student Reflection

DSC_0439Day five was quite eventful! We started out the day at the AT&T Performing Arts Center and Wyle Theatre, both part of the nations largest Art District. Dallas art district covers 68 acres and 19 blocks in downtown Dallas. The Winspear Opera House and overall design of the AT&T Performing Arts Center was phenomenal. The building was designed by famous Pritzker Prize winning architect, Norman Foster. His attention to detail and modern 21st century look was something I loved. Personally, I love windows and natural light, and with the 60 foot-high walls of clear glass windows, this was truly perfect. After seeing the ins and outs of the Winspear Opera House, we headed over to the Wyle Theatre. Wyle Theatre was another unique building with a very raw and urban feel to its design features. The main stage room at Wyle was being set up for Les Miserables performances….jealous we did not get to stay for this!

photoAfter our morning adventures, we walked downtown Dallas to have lunch in the park and get the real city experience of eating at food trucks. After lunch, and a few ice cream treats, we headed to a IAVM. At IAVM, we were able to listen to many professionals. They each had a different perspective of how they got to where they are and provided advice for us as young professionals. One of my favorite quotes from speaker Jeff Mann, Chief Executive Officer of IAVM, was: “It’s not always about being the biggest fan of the game, but about being a fan of the atmosphere.” This really stuck with me because while I love being at sporting events and sporting venues, I’m not necessarily a die hard sports fan… I just have a die hard LOVE the atmosphere of the sporting world.

After we wrapped up IAVM, we were heading to see the Rangers vs Tampa Bay Rays baseball game. Unfortunately, my fun for the day was cut short after IAVM due to my lack of better judgment of food choice. Sushi off a food truck. Yikes, right?

As I write my reflection I am sad I missed the game, but overall, it was great day, and I’m well rested and ready to see more of Dallas’ wonderful facilities!

–Dawn Wientjes, Master of Science in Recreation and Sport Administration (General)

This entry was posted in Student Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

